Happy Birthday Adrian

Dear friends,

My 42nd birthday is just around the corner, on October 14th. My journey behind these walls and razor wires began 18 years ago when I was still young, handsome, and had a full head of luxurious hair.

happy-930857_640

My journey has taken many twists and turns. My growth has not always been up; my attitude has not always been great. But one thing has been unwavering and solid: You.

I’ve yet to understand why, but year after year friends like you have been faithfully by my side. Your unconditional friendship, love and guidance have been solidly-planted, deep-rooted pillars in my walk, my growth and my life. It does not escape me, not even for a moment, that without you I would not be who I am today.

In prison, anyone who has served time for more than ten years is put on the back burner by his or her friends and family. Letters and phone calls are few. Those who once remembered their friend in prison are now caught up in their own fast-moving worlds.

So I marvel that at 18 years behind the walls I receive more mail now than when I first came in. My address books and phone books are jam-packed with loving and caring friends. I truly have more friends today than I’ve ever had in my life.

Certainly I do not give myself any of the credit; it all goes to God. He has, with much grace, showered me with your love and support for reasons I will never understand; yet I embrace His gift of you, to me, with an open heart. You are priceless to me, for who knows the path I would be on if not for you?

You have been a daily birthday gift since the very moment you entered my life. I’ve failed, in the past, to recognize the vital role you play in my life, but no more. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for giving of yourself to me and the Friends of Adrian ministry. Because of you I have not only steadily matured in Christ, but I have been able to reach beyond the prison walls to share the Good News of Jesus the Messiah.

I praise Father for the gift He gave in Jesus, and I thank Him for the gift I have in you.

Truly grateful,

Adrian G. Torres

*Note: This letter from Adrian, to you, is an interruption in the string of blogs he is writing from Ad Seg. The regular series will resume next week.

 

This blog was authored by Adrian who is incarcerated at California Institution for Men.  Adrian sends the blogs via US Mail to Friends of Adrian volunteers who post the blog.
The website is owned and maintained by Friends of Adrian volunteers. Due to his incarceration, Adrian Torres has no access to the website and is unable to respond to any comments posted.
Comments are answered by Friends of Adrian volunteers.**
Leave a Reply

